My first blog post

Does everyone choose such a mundane and obvious title when they start a blog? I can’t imagine that many people would be interested in reading my journal of living and working in Dubai, but I am not really doing this for other people. This blog is for me and for a way to keep in touch with friends and family while I spend four months away from home. Although I am interesting in keeping a record of my time in Dubai, the main reason I wanted to do a blog was to force myself to take the best advantage of my visit to the city. I thought that if I committed to writing a blog, that I would need to have something to write about, and that would get me out to see and do as much as possible in the short time I am there.

I am going to be the first female faculty member at the Dubai campus of the University of Waterloo (UW), after working at UW in Waterloo for 13 years teaching computer science. I seem to find myself in many situations where there are few females. One of my interests is trying to encourage more young women to consider the field of computer science for their future studies. Currently, the average enrollment in post-secondary computer science programs in North America is somewhere below 15%. This is down from a high of approximately 35% in the mid 1980’s. I also referee basketball – another situation where there are less than 20% women. I hope this means that I have a unique and interesting perspective on what it is like to work at the Dubai campus.

The adventure begins on September 1st, and I don’t expect to write again until I arrive in Dubai.

5 thoughts on “My first blog post

  1. I am totally interested in following along. I’m very curious what it’s like over there. So keep the posts coming!

  2. It’s blo-og, it’s blo-og; it’s good it’s better it’s good!
    It’s blo-og, it’s blo-og: it’s better than bad it’s good!
    🙂

  3. dammit!
    should read: it’s blo-og, it’s blo-og; it good, it’s better, it’s wood!
    It’s blo-og, it’s blo-og, it’s better than bad it’s good
    (to the tune of “it’s slinky, it’s slinky”)

  4. Congrats! This seems really exciting, and I very much look forward to hearing about your adventures abroad. I’ve heard that Dubai is a really amazing place and I’m sure you’ll be able to make an impact there.

    (It will also be good to commiserate with someone else who lives in the blazing heat!

    All the best and keep us posted.

    Your cousin,

    Colin

Leave a Reply

